The Advisory Board was created in 1980 as a high-level international support group for the Peggy Guggenheim Collection soon after Peggy Guggenheim's death.
In 2011, after 31 years of his founding presidency of the Advisory Board, Peter Lawson-Johnston (Honorary Chairman of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation) decided to cede his place to his cousin Patrick, The Earl Castle Stewart, former Vice-President, in 2013 succeeded by Princess Sibilla of Luxembourg. Since June 2018 Mimi L-J Howe has been nominated President of the Advisory Board.

The Board meets twice a year―once in Venice and once in some other cultural capital which the Board may choose: this was in 2016 Madrid, in 2017 Palermo and in 2018 Buenos Aires. These meetings are the occasion for the presentation and discussion of the Collection's progress, plans and strategies, as well as for visits to exhibitions, private collections, monuments and museums.

The by-laws foresee a maximum of about 70 members―with additional Honorary and Emeritus members. Sub-committees exist to manage the business of the Board and to review other issues and questions submitted to its attention: for Membership and Investment, as well as an Executive Committee. The chairman of the Executive Committee, Pilar Crespi Robert, represents ex officio the Advisory Board and the Peggy Guggenheim Collection on the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation Board of Trustees.

Membership of the Advisory Board is by invitation.

Advisory Board

Mimi L-J. Howe

Presidents Emeriti
The Earl Castle Stewart
Peter Lawson-Johnston
S.A.R. La Princesse Sibilla de Luxembourg

Giovanna Forlanelli Rovati

Honorary Co-Chair
Judith Ann Eisenberg

Honorary Members
Olga Adamishina
The Countess Castle Stewart
Michael P. Schulhof

Members Emeriti
Mary Bloch
Kristen Venable

Maria Angeles Aristrain, Condesa de Biñasco
Christina Baker
Alberto Baldan
Ronald D. Balser
Renée Belfer
Anita Belgiorno-Nettis
Lidia Berlingieri
Giuliano Bianchi
Maria Camilla Bianchini d’Alberigo
Davide Blei
Ghislaine Brenninkmeijer
Lord Browne of Madingley
Ilaria Bulgari
Gaurav Burman
Ludmila Cafritz
Alick Campbell of Lochnell
Marco Carbonari
Giovanni Cotroneo
Alberto Cribiore
Stefano Del Vecchio
Pietro Luigi Draghi
Ulla Dreyfus-Best
Linda Lindenbaum
Gaetano Maccaferri
Lord Marland of Odstock
Luca Marzotto
Valeria Monti
Christopher Mouravieff-Apostol
Peter W. Mullin
Guido Orsi
Ruth Westen Pavese
Anthony T. Podesta
Isabella Del Frate Rayburn
Elizabeth Richebourg Rea
Paola Segramora Rivolta
Pilar Crespi Robert
Adriana Batan Rocca
Beatrice Rossi-Landi
Jacqueline Donnelly Russell
The Revd. Alfred R. Shands III
James B. Sherwood
Massimo Sterpi
Carlo Traglio
Eleonora Triguboff
Melissa Ulfane
Francesco di Valmarana
Alberto Vitale