compra il tuo bigliettoiscriviti alla newsletter digitale

The Advisory Board was created in 1980 as a high level international support group for the Peggy Guggenheim Collection soon after Peggy Guggenheim's death.
In 2011, after 31 years of his founding presidency af the Advisory Board, Peter Lawson-Johnston (Honorary Chairman of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation) decided to cede his place to his cousin Patrick, The Earl Castle Stewart, former Vice-President. Since June 2013 Princess Sibilla of Luxembourg has been nominated President of the Advisory Board.

The Board meets twice a year―once in Venice and once in some other cultural capital which the Board may choose. In 2011 the Board chose the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, in 2012 the city of Lisbon and Tel Aviv in 2013. These meetings are the occasion for the presentation and discussion of the Collection's progress, plans and strategies, as well as for visits to exhibitions, private collections, monuments and museums.

The by-laws foresee a maximum of about 60 members―with additional Honorary and Emeritus members. Sub-committees exist to manage the business of the Board and to review other issues and questions submitted to its attention: for Membership and Investment, as well as an Executive Committee.
The chairman of the Executive Committee, David Gallagher represents ex officio the Advisory Board and the Peggy Guggenheim Collection on the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation Board of Trustees.

Membership of the Advisory Board is by invitation.


S.A.R. La Princesse Guillaume de Luxembourg

The Earl Castle Stewart
Peter Lawson-Johnston
Presidents Emeritus

Mimi L-J. Howe

Linda Douglass
Honorary Co-Chair

Olga Adamishina
Alfredo Gysi
Michael P. Schulhof
Honorary Members

Luigi Agrati
Maria Angeles Aristrain, Condesa de Biñasco
Ronald D. Balser
Renée Belfer
Anita Belgiorno-Nettis
Marchese Annibale Berlingieri
Giuliano Bianchi
Maria Camilla Bianchini d’Alberigo
Davide Blei
Lord Browne of Madingley
Susan Burns
Ludmila Cafritz
Alick Campbell of Lochnell
Marco Carbonari
Sir Trevor Chinn
Giovanni Cotroneo
Pilar Crespi Robert
Isabella Del Frate Rayburn
Stefano Del Vecchio
Pietro Luigi Draghi
Ulla Dreyfus-Best
Gayle Boxer Duncanson
Robert T. Edwards
John L. Fiorilla di Santa Croce
Giovanna Forlanelli Rovati
Mary E. Frank
David Gallagher, Chair, Executive Committee
Anna Goldenberg
Marino Golinelli
Ginny Green, Chair, Membership Committee
Joana Grevers
Hans-Christian Habermann
Gilbert W. Harrison
Lisa A. Hook
John F. Hotchkis
Leon Koffler
Peter L. Levy
Linda Lindenbaum
Gaetano Maccaferri
Lord Marland of Odstock
Luca Marzotto
Valeria Monti
Liliana Moscheri
Peter W. Mullin
Guido Orsi
Giorgio Pandini
Rose Marie Parravicini
Heather M. Podesta
Benjamin B. Rauch
Elizabeth Richebourg Rea
Joanna Riddell
Inge Rodenstock
Beatrice Rossi-Landi
Miles Rubin
Brigitte Schuler-Voith
The Revd. Alfred R. Shands III
James B. Sherwood
Massimo Sterpi
Robert J. Tomei
Carlo Traglio
Melissa Ulfane
Conte Francesco di Valmarana
Alberto Vitale, Chair, Investment Committee
Ruth Westen Pavese

Emeritus Members
Mary Bloch
Fiorella Chiari
Patricia Gerber
Jacques E. Lennon
Kristen Venable

credits: Hangar Design Group